Warning: Array to string conversion in /home/u548692787/domains/jkutimes.in/public_html/wp-includes/shortcodes.php on line 355
HomeIPL 2023 Final: MS Dhoni and CSK emulate Rohit Sharma and MI...

IPL 2023 Final: MS Dhoni and CSK emulate Rohit Sharma and MI with 5th IPL title





By India Today Sports Desk: It was a historic night for MS Dhoni as he became the joint-most successful captain in tournament history after Chennai Super Kings won their 5th title. In the IPL 2023 final that began on May 28 and ended on May 30, CSK defeated Gujarat Titans by 5 wickets via DLS method at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

In a stunning thriller in the iconic stadium, Chennai Super Kings successfully chased down 171 runs in 15 overs after rain interrupted the big final for close to 3 hours. Gujarat Titans posted the highest-ever IPL total of 214 for 4 but it was not enough as the 2022 champions lost the final by 5 wickets via DLS method.

IPL 2023 Final, CSK vs GT Highlights

Chennai needed 13 runs in the final over when they were chasing a revised target of 171 in 15 overs. They were under considerable pressure after Mohit Sharma, who has had a dream return to the IPL with Gujarat Titans, picked up MS Dhoni’s wicket for 0 in the 13th over.

Mohit Sharma kept nailing the yorkers in the final over to bring the equation down to 10 off the last 2 balls when Ravindra Jadeja stepped up and hit the winning runs. Jadeja hit a six in the penultimate ball of the final and flicked one past the short fine leg to hit the winning runs with a boundary.

MS Dhoni was not able to watch the last two deliveries as he kept his eyes closed at the dugout. However, after the victory, the CSK captain walked into the pitch with big smile on his face.

MS Dhoni and CSK equalled Rohit Sharma and Mumbai Indians’ record for the most IPL titles in the history of the tournament.


1st title in 2010

2nd title in 2011

3rd title in 2018

4th title in 2021

5th title in 2023

It was also MS Dhoni’s 250th IPL match as he set a record for the most final appearances by a player in the IPL. Out of 11 finals, Dhoni has featured in, it was his 5th title victory. Dhoni also lost an IPL final with Rising Pune SuperGiant who were led by Steve Smith in IPL 2017.

Notably, it was also Hardik Pandya’s first defeat in the final of an IPL after 5 victories on the trot (4 with Mumbai Indians and 1 with Gujarat Titans).

Source link

Recent posts

Recent comments