WBBL 2020 Final: Sydney Thunder beat Melbourne Stars to lift 2nd Women’s Big Bash League title

    Women’s Big Bash League 2020: Rachel Hayne’s Syndey Thunder Women have trumped the Melbourne Stars Women, by a margin of 7 wickets, to win their 2nd WBBL title.

    Rachael Haynes leads Sydney Thunder to WBBL 2020 win. (Reuters Photo)

    Rachael Haynes leads Sydney Thunder to WBBL 2020 win. (Reuters Photo)


    • Sydney Thunder lift their 2nd WBBL title after 7-wicket win over Melbourne Stars
    • Ismail and Johnson bagged two wickets each in the 1st innings
    • Heather Knight and Rachael Haynes remained unbeaten in the chase

    Rachael Hayne’s Syndey Thunder have won the 6th edition of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL 2020) after having defeated the Melbourne Stars in the final, on Saturday, November 28. Sydney Thunder Women (87/3 in 13.4 overs) beat Melbourne Stars Women (86/9 in 20 overs) by a margin of 7 wickets at the North Sydney Oval in Sydney.

    The 34-day T20 competition between eight teams has now come to an end with Syndey Thunder Women lifted their 2nd WBBL title since the inception of the Women’s T20 league. The first edition of the league was played in the 2015-16 season between 8 teams and Syndey Thunder had beaten Syndey Sixers in the final to win their first WBBL title, under captain Alex Blackwell.

    WBBL 2020 Final | Match Highlights

    Haynes, who was a part of the team that lifted the 1st WBBL title, has won the Syndey Thunder their 2nd Women’s Big Bash League.

    It was a bowler’s day through and through in Sydney as after Melbourne Stars won the toss and chose to bat first, they were stunned with the bowling attack of the Syndey Thunder Women. The opening partnership was soon broken as Melbourne Stars opener Ellyse Villani was shown off by fast bowler Shabnim Ismail. Stars managed to score only 20/2 runs at the end of the Powerplay and had lost their 2nd wicket in the form of Mignon du Preez sent packing by pacer Sammy-Jo Johnson.

    Stars captain Meg Lanning was the first to go in the middle overs as Ismail returned to bowl her 4th and final over and got rid of the potential dangerman in the game. After that, there was no looking back for Syndey Thunder who crushed the batting lineup of the Stars leaving them at 86/9 at the end of 20 overs. Ismail and Johnson bagged 2 wickets each in their 4-over quota and the remaining 4 bowlers bagged one scalp each. English all-rounder Katherine Brunt top-scored for Melbourne with an unbeaten 27-ball 22.

    Chasing a small target of 87, Sydney Thunder didn’t accelerate their innings right from the start and chose to take it slow with openers Tammy Beaumont and Rachel Trenaman. After Beaumont’s wicket in the 5th over, Trenaman formed a 20-run partnership with Heather Knight. Trenaman fell in the 8th over, with only 43 runs remaining in the chase.

    Heather Knight (26* off 19) and captain Rachael Haynes (21* off 17) formed an unbeaten 4th-wicket stand of 33 runs off just 23 balls to see Syndey Thunder to a 7-wicket (38 balls remaining) win against Melbourne Stars in the final.

    Source link